

# **Armstrong Scholarship**

Generously Donated by CSU Ski Team Alum Phil Armstrong

# **REWARDING EXCELLENCE**

This scholarship will be awarded at the end of the season to one CSU Ski Team member who consistently demonstrates excellence as a student, athlete, teammate, and member of the CSU community. All members are encouraged to pursue this award but the award will only be given to a deserving candidate. The following describes the two major considerations for the award: academics and skiing; as well as two special considerations: team involvement and consistency/improvement. This criteria will also be used to name the following additional awards: Male/Female Skier of the Year, and Freshman of the Year.

# ACADEMIC

- 1. A minimum of a 2.75 GPA is required to be eligible
- 2. Academic excellence is a major consideration
- 3. Recipient should place a high personal priority on academics

### SKIING

- 1. Recipient should be a seeded athlete OR a major contributor to the strength of the team
- 2. Care and (mental and physical) preparation for races and training shown
- 3. Clear and definite passion/desire to succeed in skiing

#### SPECIAL CONSIDERATIONS: CONSISTENCY/IMPROVEMENT and TEAMSMANSHIP

- 1. Recipient shows improvement in results/ability from first training session to Regionals; OR consistent placing inside Top 30
- 2. Recipient attempts to improve their skiing ability throughout season
- 3. Recipient's presence to team meetings, training sessions, and all races are a major consideration
- 4. Recipient exemplifies quality teammate behavior
- 5. Recipient has a positive attitude and NEVER acts in a manner detrimental to the team or Colorado State University

# **SELECTION PROCESS**

The scholarship recipient will be selected after careful consideration of all of the above aspects. Each officer will nominate up to 3 members that, in their opinion, should be more thoroughly discussed to receive the award. After a unified discussion of all nominees, there will then be an official vote on the recipient. Each officer will have 5 votes to distribute to 1 -3 nominees that they feel deserve accommodation for their role on the team. For example, if an officer feels that there is one exemplary member deserving of all 5 of their votes then they may grant all 5 to that member. But if there are two or more deserving members then the officer may distribute their votes as they see fit. However, the most highly rated member must be unanimously approved by the officers. Once there is a consensus reached, the recipient's case for the scholarship will be presented to and approved by the donor, Phil Armstrong. Also, at this time the male and female members with the most votes (who did not receive the scholarship) will be named the respective "Male/Female Skier of the Year". Also, the freshman with the most votes (who did not receive the scholarship or other awards) will receive the "Freshman of the Year".

A note on officer eligibility, ties, and other awards: Officers are eligible for the Armstrong Scholarship and other awards. However, an officer may only use 1 of their 5 votes on themselves. The remaining four votes must be allocated to another member. Generally, there are possibilities for ties and a lack of ineligible members. These instances will be resolved at the President's discretion and evaluated individually. Ties are broken by the President's vote or through the process of their choice.

### SCHOLARSHIP OBJECTIVE

This scholarship is donated by Phillip Armstrong in hopes that it will provide a goal for CSU Ski Team members to strive for throughout the year. This scholarship aims to motivate student athletes to push their limits in dryland workouts, the classroom, around their teammates, and on the snow. Although on a "club" athletic team, CSU Ski Team members are expected to take their responsibilities and actions seriously; and in a way that makes them Proud to Be a CSU Ram.

#### Colorado State University Ski Team Award History:

<u>2019</u>

Armstrong Scholarship Winner: Andrew Mangold Male Skier of the Year: Wyndham May Female Skier of the Year:Lauren Ramsey

Freshman of the Year: Luke Ericson